The faculty and graduate students of the Behavioral and Cognitive Neuroscience area

The BCN Group 2016-2017

standing (back row): Leslie Howard, Bethany Stenett, Dr. Marek Schwendt, Samarth Bhatt, Nathan Petro, Allison Carr, Dr. Chris Janus, Dr. Phillip Mears, Christian Garcia, Marilyn Horta, Arjun Iyer

standing (middle row): Dulce Minaya, Melissa Cervantez, Dr. Darlene Kertes, Lauren Hoffman, Julianne Price, Dr. Lori Knackstedt, Nina Thigpen, Christina Gobin, Desiree Lussier, Lisa Curry-Pochy

Tebowing (in front): Dr. Darragh Devine, Peter Hamor, Ian Frazier, Bradley Wilkes, Dr. Lisa Scott

missing:  Dr. Margaret Bradley,  Dr. Andreas Keil, Carly Logan, Dr. Neil Rowland, John Shallcross

Faculty

Margaret Bradley, Ph.D., Research Professor. Psychobiology of attention and emotion.

Darragh P. Devine, Ph.D., Professor and Director. Neurobiology of self-injurious behavior, neurobiology of autism spectrum disorder.

Andreas Keil, Ph.D. Professor. Psychophysiology of emotion, temporal dynamics of perception/attention, oscillatory activity of the human cerebral cortex.

Lori Knackstedt, Ph.D., Associate Professor. Neurobiology of drug addiction.

Peter Kvam, Ph.D., Assistant Professor. Computational modeling of decision making.

Brian Odegaard, Ph.D., Assistant Professor. Perception, Attention, and Consciousness.

Neil E. Rowland, Ph.D., Professor. Physiology and neurochemistry of feeding.

Marek Schwendt, Ph.D. Assistant Professor. Neurobiology of drug addiction, motivated behavior and cognition.

Steven Weisberg, Ph.D., Assistant Professor. Cognitive neuroscience of spatial navigation.

Faculty with Joint Appointments in Behavioral and Cognitive Neuroscience:

Natalie C. Ebner, Ph.D., Assistant Professor of Psychology. Development and interplay of motivation, emotion, and cognition across the lifespan.

Darlene A. Kertes, Ph.D., Associate Professor of Psychology. Neurobiology of stress, gene-environment/epigenetic processes, human development.

Ben Lewis, Ph.D., Assistant Professor of Psychiatry. Alcohol-related research from a neurobehavioral perspective.

Mark H. Lewis, Ph.D., Professor of Psychiatry. Neurochemistry of stereotyped behavior disorders.

Sara Jo Nixon, Ph.D., Professor of Psychiatry. Cognitive neuroscience of substance abuse.

Lisa S. Scott, Ph.D., Associate Professor of Psychology. Brain, cognition, and development.

Barry Setlow, Ph.D.,  Professor of Psychiatry. neural basis of risky choice behaviors.

Professor Emereti:

W. Keith Berg, Ph.D., Professor Emeritus. Psychophysiological measures in humans.

Donald A. Dewsbury, Ph.D., Professor Emeritus. History of psychology; Comparative psychology.

Ira Fischler, Ph.D., Professor Emeritus. Human memory and information processing, psychophysiology of cognition.

Richard A. Griggs, Ph.D., Professor Emeritus. Deductive reasoning and teaching of psychology.

Robert D. Sorkin, Ph.D., Professor Emeritus. Auditory perception, signal detection and decision-making, and human factors.

Donald J. Stehouwer, Ph.D., Professor. Developmental neurobiology, development of motor systems.

Philip Teitelbaum, Ph.D., Graduate Research Professor. Analysis of human movement disorders.

Keith D. White, Ph.D. Professor Emeritus. Visual perception, and sensory integration.

 

Current Students, 2016-2017

Name, Degree Starting
Year
Degree
Sought
Advisor E-mail
Bhatt, Samarth 2016 M.S., Ph.D. Kertes ssbhatt@ufl.edu
Jessica Campbell 2015 M.S., Ph.D. Abrams jesscamp616@ufl.edu
Allison Carr 2016 M.S., Ph.D. Scott acarr5@ufl.edu
Lisa Curry-Pochy 2015 M.S., Ph.D. Lewis lisa.curry@ufl.edu
Christian Garcia 2016 M.S., Ph.D. Nixon christiangarcia@ufl.edu
Marilyn Horta 2014 M.S., Ph.D. Ebner mhorta09@ufl.edu
Leslie Howard 2016 M.S., Ph.D. Knackstedt lrh223@ufl.edu
Dulce Minaya 2013 Ph.D. Rowland dminaya@ufl.edu
Ian Frazier 2015 Ph.D. Ebner ianfrazier@ufl.edu
Christina Gobin 2014 Ph.D. Schwendt cgobin@ufl.edu
Forest Gruss 2012 Ph.D. Keil loforest@ufl.edu
Peter Hamor 2016 M.S., Ph.D. Schwendt puhamor@ufl.edu
Lauren Hoffman 2011 Ph.D. Nixon lahoffman@ufl.edu
Arjun Iyer 2015 Ph.D. Scott aiyer1217@ufl.edu
Carly Logan 2015 M.S., Ph.D. Knackstedt clogan10@ufl.edu
Désirée Lussier 2015 M.S., Ph.D. Ebner desiree.lussier@ufl.edu
Dulce Minaya 2013 Ph.D. Rowland dminaya@ufl.edu
Nathan Petro 2013 Ph.D. Keil npetro@ufl.edu
Julianne Price 2015 Ph.D. Nixon juliannelp@ufl.edu
John Shallcross 2015 M.S., Ph.D. Schwendt jshallcross@ufl.edu
Danielle Stahl Davis 2011 Ph.D. Abrams dstahldavis@ufl.edu
Bethany Stennett 2013 Ph.D. Knackstedt bstennett@ufl.edu
Nina Thigpen 2014 Ph.D. Keil nthigpen@ufl.edu
Bradley Wilkes 2011 Ph.D. Lewis bwilkes@ufl.edu
Xiaomeng Yuan 2010 Ph.D. Keil verabbit@ufl.edu

Recent GRaduates of the Behavioral and Cognitive Neuroscience Program

Name Ph.D. Received Advisor Current Employment
Keith Alfano 2007 Delaney Principal Usability engineer, Dell computers.
Deniz Atalayer 2010 Rowland Assistant Professor, Sabanci University (Turkey)
Allison Bechard 2016 Lewis Assistant Professor, SUNY Geneseo
Tana Bleser-Carson 2013 Lewis Adjunct Assistant Professor, UF Occupational Therapy
Melissa Cervantez 2018 Rowland
Vincent Costa 2011 Bradley Post-Doctoral Researcher, National Institutes of Health
Emily Splane (Crews) 2004 Rowland Associate Professor & Chair of Social Sciences, Flagler College
Cedrick D. Dotson 2006 Spector Principal Scientist, the Coca Cola Company
Meagan Farrell 2012 Abrams Clinical Science Advisor, ERT Pharmaceuticals
Anastasia Ford 2013 White Assistant Scientist, VA Hospital
Patricia Grebenstein 2012 Rowland Post-Doctoral Researcher, University of Minnesota
Megan Roth (Green) 2007 Devine Director of Sponsored Research, Abilene Christian Univ.
Connie Grobe (Colbert) 2006 Rowland Post-Doctoral Researcher, Dept. of Psychology, University of Iowa
Cynthia Kaschub 2008 Fischler Office of Naval Research
Catherine Marcinkiewcz 2010 Devine Post-Doctoral Researcher, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
Sara Margolin 2007 Abrams Associate Professor, SUNY Brockport
Clare Mathes 2008 Rowland Assistant Professor of Psychology, Baldwin-Wallace University
Melanie McEwen 2000 Stehouwer Associate Consultant, Scientific Communication, Eli Lilly
Keith McGregor 2010 White Post-Doctoral Fellow, Brain Imaging Rehab and Cognition Lab, UF
E. Menton DeWeese 2015 Keil Postdoctoral Fellow, MD Anderson Cancer Center, Univ Texas
Anaya Mitra 2008 Rowland Assistant Professor, St. Catherine University
Burhan Ogut 2008 Fischler Senior Researcher, American Institutes for Research, Washington DC
Sabra Pelham 2014 Abrams Assistant Professor, Spokane Falls Community College
Inkyung Song 2015 Keil Postdoctoral Fellow, Columbia Univ & NY State Psychiatric Inst
Sridhar Srinivasan 2014 Smith Post-Doctoral Researcher, Harvard U. & Acoustic Res.Inst. Vienna
Michael Staup 2008 Stehouwer Staff scientist, Crown Bioscience
Bethany Stennett 2018 Knackstedt Post-doctoral Researcher, UF
Yoko Tanimura 2010 Lewis Post-Doctoral Researcher, University of Rochester
Jaime Tartar 2004 Devine Associate Professor, Nova Southeastern University
Dunja Trunk 2007 Abrams Associate Professor, Bloomfield College
Cheryl Vaughan 2006 Rowland Research Coordinator, Emory University School of Medicine
Amber Muehlmann 2011 Devine Assistant Professor, Dept. of Psychiatry, University of Florida
Nathan Weinstock 2015 Devine Assistant Director QC, AGTC (Biotech)
Katherine White 2002 Abrams Associate Professor, Rhodes College