UF Department of Psychology AY 2023-2024

Standing Committees

• Policy and Planning Committee:

Description:

Advisory committee to the chair on a range of issues. Membership consists of the Department Chair, the Associate Chair, each Area director (AD), the Undergraduate Coordinator, the Graduate Coordinator, the Space Coordinator, the ABCW Coordinator, and a graduate student representative (PGSO President or designee).

Members:

Julia Graber	Fall 2018-
Tim Vollmer	SP 2024-Sum 2026
Andreas Keil	Fall 2022-Sum 2025
Martin Heesacker	Fall 2022-Sum 2025
Lisa Scott	SP 2024-Sum 2026
Marina Klimenko	Fall 2023-Sum 2026
Greg Webster	Fall 2023-Sum 2026
Willie DeLeon	SP 2024-
Ron Chandler	Fall 2020-
Darragh Devine	Fall 2017-
Natalie Ebner	Fall 2017-
Nicole Gravina	Fall 2021-
Hugh Farrior	Fall 2023-Sum 2024
	Tim Vollmer Andreas Keil Martin Heesacker Lisa Scott Marina Klimenko Greg Webster Willie DeLeon Ron Chandler Darragh Devine Natalie Ebner Nicole Gravina

• Graduate Studies Committee

Description:

Provides advice to the Graduate Coordinator concerning matters including but not restricted to curriculum, travel or other award selection, and student progress. As this committee adjudicates grad student issues, there is no grad student representative.

Members:

Committee Chair	Darragh Devine	Appointed
Member	Jesse Dallery	Fall 2014-
Member	Greg Webster	Fall 2023- (prior terms)

• Undergraduate Studies Committee

Description:

Provides advice to the Undergraduate Coordinator concerning matters including but not restricted to curriculum, award selection, and hearing student grievances.

Members:

Committee Chair	Ron Chandler	Appointed
Member	Marina Klimenko	Fall 2023-
Member	Shari Schwartz	Fall 2023-
Grad Student Rep.	Becca Polk	2023-2024

• Space Committee

Description:

Provides recommendations concerning utilization of space, identification of laboratory space for new faculty, and any other issues relating to space.

*Temporarily serving as New Building Committee, as needed.

Members:

Committee Chair	Natalie Ebner	Appointed
Member	Lori Knackstedt	Fall 2022-
Member	Marina Klimenko	Fall 2019-

Merit Committee

Description:

Reviews annually the faculty's Annual Activity Reports (AARs) and provides evaluative scores and summary comments that may assist the department chair in preparing annual letters of evaluation, determination of merit raises (if any), and other matters relating to professional progress. Members elected every spring for two-year terms. The committee members select a chair each year.

Members:

BA Member	Corina Jimenez-Gomez	3/16/2024-3/15/2026
BCN Member	Lori Knackstedt	3/16/2023-3/15/2025
COU Member	Anne Zhou	3/16/2023-3/15/2025
DEV Member	Shanting Chen	3/16/2024-3/15/2026
INS Member	Feihong Wang	3/16/2023-3/15/2025
SOC Member	Lindsey Rodriguez	3/16/2024-3/15/2026

• Graduate Selection Committee

Description:

Responsible for organizing and/or overseeing the prioritizing of graduate applicants with respect to admissions and financial support. Responsible for assuring an appropriate distribution of awards and award types (e.g., fellowship, teaching assistantship) across the areas of the department, and in relation to target numbers to be admitted. *Members:*

/lembers:

Graduate Coordinator, Chair.

One representative from each of the five graduate training areas. TBD annually.

• Accessibility, Belonging, and Community Well-Being Committee

Description:

Supports, facilitates, and provides resources for our department's collective work toward accessibility, belonging, and community well-being goals.

Members:

Committee Chair	Nicole Gravina	Appointed
Member	Roberto Abreu	Fall 2020-
Member	Brian Odegaard	Fall 2021-
Member	Martin Heesacker	Fall 2021-
Member	Kate Ratliff	Fall 2020-21; Fall 2022-

Ad Hoc Committees

• Participant Pool Committee

Description:

Reviews faculty requests for research participants through SONA each semester and determine appropriate allocations.

Members:

Co-Chair	Brian Cahill	Fall 2017-
Co-Chair	Erin Westgate	Fall 2019-

• Jacquelin Goldman Fellowship & Scholarship Program in Developmental Psychology, Awards Committee

Description:

Oversees the Goldman awards program. Responsible for determining deadlines and annual announcements of award competitions, reviewing applicants, and selecting award recipients. The Committee Chair will also record annual expenditures and review the availability of funds and spending commitments on a regular basis. Committee members serve 4-year terms with two members from Developmental and one out of area member.

Members:

Committee Chair	Susan Bluck	Fall 2023- (member Fall 2021)
DEV Member	Shanting Chen	Fall 2023-
Out-of-area Member	Peter Kvam	Fall 2021-Sum 2025
Grad Student Member	Mina Elhamiasil	Fall 2023-Sum 2024

Social Events and Community Engagement Committee

Description:

Implements and maintains a departmental presence in social media outlets; makes announcements about awards; produces a newsletter 2x per year.

Members:

Committee Chair	Lori Knackstedt	
Member	Ryan Mears	
Member	Lisa Scott	
Member	Corina Jimenez-Gomez	
Member	Shanting Chen	
Staff Member	Starla Chew-Gleason	

• The Balkhi Foundation Experiential Learning Fund, Awards Committee Description:

Responsible for determining deadlines and annual announcements of award competition, reviewing applications, and selecting award recipients. The Committee Chair will also record annual expenditures and review the availability of funds and spending commitments on a regular basis. Committee members serve 3-year terms and are drawn from different areas when possible.

Members:

Committee Chair	Brian Odegaard	SP 2024-
Member	Jesse Dallery	SP 2024
Member	Shanting Chen	SP 2024
Grad Student Member	ТВА	

• By-laws Review Committee

Description:

Reviewing department constitution and by-laws to recommend updates to align and improve procedures.

Members:

Chair	Tim Vollmer	Fall 2022-
Member	Brian Cahill	Fall 2022-
Member	Martin Heesacker	Fall 2022